Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn

Members Area
Chapters Chapters Close

IPAC Canada

IPAC Central South Ontario

IPAC Central South Ontario (IPAC CSO)



This award will be presented to a IPAC CSO member who qualifies, based on the following criteria:

  • EARTH: The individual promotes appreciation for, and awareness of, the field of Infection Prevention and Control 
  • WATER :The individual is creative and innovative 
  • FIRE: The individual sparks enthusiasm for the field of Infection Prevention and Control 
  • AIR: The individual communicates well 
  • STAR MATTER :The individual has excelled in performance 

Hygiea Award Criteria

HYGIEA nomination form

Previous Hygiea Award winners:

  • 2015 -Connie Gittens-Webber
  • 2014 -Cheryl Collins
  • 2013 -Virginia Tirilis
  • 2012 -Risa Cashmore
  • 2010 -Keith Sopha
  • 2007 -Anne Bialachowski

Out of the Box Award

Out of the BoxHonours the candidate for outstanding creativity in the management and resolution of a particular infection prevention and control (IPAC) issue or in the development and initiation of an innovative or ingenious educational project.

The Out of the Box Award was founded by Diane Thornley upon her retirement. Diane was a long time infection control professional and one of the founding members of IPAC Canada and IPAC CSO.

Out of the Box Award criteria

Congratulations to the 2017 Out of the Box Award winner: Trish Hutton

Previous Out of the Box Award winners:

  • 2016 -Trish Hutton
  • 2015 -Connie Gittens-Webber on behalf of Hamilton Health Sciences

Other Awards


Mark Jefferson accepting the 2012 CIC Chapter Achievement Award


IPAC CSO members accepting the 2012 3M Chapter Achievement Award


IPAC CSO members in attendance at the IPAC Canada conference accepting the CIC Chapter Achievement Award